Vegan Worcestershire Sauce
Worcestershire sauce is a pretty specific sauce with a unique flavor. The original flavor comes from fermented anchovies plus spices, but of course we don’t want any anchovies in our sauce! This smells and tastes remarkably like traditional Worcestershire sauce, though! I know because it was one of the last non vegan things I still had in my house a couple years ago. It’s not an ingredient I used often, but some recipes just need it for the unique taste!
I don’t want any preservatives or artificial colors or flavors in my sauces, so I make it myself with organic vinegars, soy sauce, and a special blend of spices. It is slowly simmered until it is perfect, strained, and then I pour it into sterilized jars and keep until needed.
SOOOO.... what can you do with this vegan Worcestershire sauce? Here are some ways that we use it! Remember that this is a pretty flavorful sauce, so you usually want to use just a little bit. Start with about 1/2 teaspoon if you are adding it to a marinade, soup, stir fry, etc. and add more to taste.
- It is an important flavor ingredient in many sloppy joe recipes
- Add to soups and stews (a little goes a long way, so don’t add too much!)
- Use in marinade for mushrooms, tofu, seitan, etc.
- add a little bit to a vegan Caesar dressing recipe
- Use in stir fries
- add to vegan ‘meat’ loaves, veggie burgers, etc.
Worcestershire sauce is used in a lot of meaty recipes, so you can use it to add that depth of flavor to veggie burgers, stir fries, mushroom dishes, etc.
1 jar - 150ml
storage info: once you open the jar, keep your Worcestershire sauce in the fridge. I don’t know exactly how long it lasts, but I’ve kept it for a year and it was still good. It is made with a base of soy sauce and vinegar, so it does not easily go bad. Just be sure to use a clean spoon to spoon out the sauce, or just pour it into a spoon.
Soy sauce, organic apple cider vinegar, organic balsamic vinegar, onion, liquid smoke, garlic powder, himalayan salt, spices
*If you want your sauce with NO onion or garlic, just choose that option with the drop down menu before adding it to your cart.
**gluten free - I make this sauce with gluten free soy sauce (usually braggs amino acid or something similar). As always, remember that I also make gluten containing foods in the same kitchen. I take care to wash dishes, etc. carefully, but cannot 100% guarantee no cross contamination.